RSS Feed

Good grief, it’s bloody 3 am…

Posted on

Normally, when I’m working dayshifts and am in need of being to work way too early in the AM, I set my alarm clock for 4:15 am in order to get in my practice before biking off to work. Winters are slightly more civilized in that I get up at 4:45 am, as I have not yet developed any psychological disorders that compel me to push my bike through 8 feet of bloody snow.

That said, it’s safe to assume that at 3 o’clock this morning, I was safely as a-snug in my widdle bed, unlike the inconsiderate, low-life, mouth breathing morons engaged in a battle royale on the street immediately outside my bedroom window. Snap — The police dispatcher was awake and ON DUTY. I listened for a minute, long enough to determine that no one is getting hurt, looked at the bedside clock a moment and decided, it’s highly unlikely I’m getting back to sleep anytime soon.

Now it’s been nearly 18 hours since my last practice and let’s just assume the Om has pretty much worn off. My capacity to demonstrate any sort of compassion towards my fellow humans, particularly when they’re stewed in the alcoholic beverage of their choice, is somewhere between nil and non-existent. In fact, I’m feeling pretty judgmental right now.

A word of advice to the world in general and residents of my street in particular: If you cannot handle your liquor, you ought not drink. Hint: anytime you find yourself out on the sidewalk, screaming at your significant other at 3 am and waking otherwise peaceable yoginis from their dreams, it’s a sure sign you can’t handle your liquor. Sometimes God speaks in mysterious tongues. This isn’t one of those times. It’s pretty clear cut. Lay off the booze.

Of course, now that I’ve had a chance to fully wake up and process the entire event …. I’d like to report that I’m all calm, cool and compassionate about it. I’m not. I’ve got a 12 hr Saturday day shift ahead of me and frankly, I could have used that sleep. But the drunks have wandered off and an hour later, I’m still peeved with the events they’ve likely forgotten by now. Seems like someone here is attached to her need to be right (and/or sleeping).

A word of advice to the world in general and residents of my street in particular: Anytime you find yourself still muttering about a minor event an hour after it’s transpired, it’s a sure sign you can’t handle your attachments. Sometimes God speaks in mysterious tongues. This isn’t one of those times. It’s pretty clear cut. Lay off the self-righteous anger.

Aparigraha — not grasping — is a fine yoga concept to drag out of the woodwork right now. Letting the experience be what it was and letting it go. Not grasping it to me and turning it into some emotional soap opera and not clinging to my desire to be right and a cut above the uncouth louts who disturbed my slumber.

It’s easy to see our neighbour’s addictions and their kleshas at work. Sometimes it’s not so easy to spot our own in action. And at some level I just have to laugh… five years ago, in my pre-yoga life, I would not have got out of bed, muttered madly until I had processed enough to write a self-reflective post on the experience. Hell, no, I would have yelled out the window and been launching bookends for missiles if I got any back chat. And I would have wound myself into a state of justifiable rage for the next 24-48 hours (yeah, because that’s so good for the old blood pressure).

Who needs double blind studies to prove yoga works? For me, all the proof I need right now is the fact my bookends are still on my bedside table and not out in the driveway.

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

Leave a Reply

