RSS Feed

Mental note to self…

Posted on

Do not play on the mat when you’re scheduled to work a night shift.

Yesterday’s little foray on the mat, which was largely free form and without any thought into design behind it turned out to be a bad idea. It’s not that I haven’t done stuff like this before, I’ve just always been free to sleep off the negative effects of an off-balanced session.

Yesterday, and I had hints of it on the mat as I was finishing up, introduced a lot of tension into my shoulders and there wasn’t any significant release of that area to counter it. Consequently, by 3 am, my neck was like steel and just holding my head up hurt like all get out. I spent about half the shift with a heated compress bag over my neck and shoulders in an attempt to get them to loosen up.

Today, I think I’ll sit down with pencil and paper and see if I can’t tweak yesterday’s mat experiment and circumvent the neck and shoulders bit. I think that it has potential to be a good session given enough play room.

Besides, I need as much practice as I can get with session construction. It was my weakest point during my teacher’s training and the one I feel the least confident about. So it’s time to start practicing those skills while letting go of my expectations that I’m going to be some kind of session construction wizard my first forays out. The problem with studying from massive quantities of Claude MarĂ©chal’s practices is you get an idea of just how elegant a good session can be and just how awkward mine are in comparison. I’m going to assume his first practices weren’t quite the same caliber.

In any event, it’s time to get back to work. Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

Leave a Reply

