RSS Feed

Standing on my own two feet.

Posted on

I think I’ve managed to get my new session in manageable shape. Samasthiti (equal standing posture) is the principle posture for this session and I’m making a real effort to focus on feet and grounding.

My error from last session was not treating Samasthiti as a “real” posture, complete with need to warm up and prep the body. This time I started with Samasthiti but didn’t hold it very long (6 breaths) and went into a sequence of standing postures to limber up the back, hips and hamstrings.

Then I took Samasthiti as the principle posture, holding it for an extended period of time. I didn’t count the breaths, just paid attention to the various parts of my body and how they interacted in this posture.

A few counter postures concluded the session and I used one last go at Samasthiti as the last posture. If I hadn’t been heading out to work, it would have been a perfect transition into a walking meditation.

I’m going to leave this session as it stands right now. I think I’ll revisit it this session and layer some chanting over it. I’d also like to experiment with some chant and/or mantra work. The next session I’d like to work on will be centred on the seated twist.

I’m really enjoying this session. I need the feeling of grounding and returning to a sense of center after this spring. I really feel a sense of things settling around me. I’ve started working on my course for the fall. I’m feeling really confident about how things are working out.

More importantly, for me, I enjoyed constructing the session. As I was undergoing my teacher’s training, I really struggled with session construction, and frequently fell short of where I wanted to go. These days, I’m working on my own schedule and it’s a much more enjoyable process.

Thanks for reading,

Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

Leave a Reply

