RSS Feed

It’s simple…

Posted on

Feet on the floor, spine straight, chin slightly tucked in, breathe.

It’s been a rough couple of days. First was my massage therapy aggravating  some type of injury on my left side. I think I was right — wisdom being the better part of valour — to lay off the asana practice until the flare up cools down a bit. Even yesterday, the ulnar nerve was just buzzing. I did some gentle stretching but for the most part, laid off the practice. It’s time for a little TLC (ahimsa in action) and about 6 breaths of Tadasana (Mountain Post) just to open the chest a bit.

But, and here’s the rub, the fact that the mat isn’t unrolled does not negate the need for daily practice. No matter how busy I am, or what’s going on, or what version of the never ending soap opera that is my life is unfolding, if I’m honest, I’ll recognize I always have time to just breathe.

I don’t even have to get on the floor and a some cross legged position that’s going to rattle that tight spot on the left quadricep. No, it’s the all time good standby… put your feet on the floor, spine straight, chin tucked in, breathe.

Breathe.

I’m following one of the simplest meditation techniques in the world .. I AM, silently chanting “I” on the inhale phase and “AM” on the exhale. Over and over, to still the mind. As the mind wanders off to play, gently bringing it back to meditation.. I AM.

It works. I’m feeling better, more solid and more grounded. I need to be. There wasn’t a lot of sleep in our household last night. My husband had word from Alberta that his mother is preparing to pass from this life. and we’re waiting for that phone call to come in. Perhaps part of the resistance  to practice yesterday and this morning means returning to the complicated relationship I had with my own mother before her death three years ago.

In any event, avoiding practice doesn’t make our lives stop being complicated. It just means we have less capacity to deal with what is being chucked at us. So there you have it, the all time, no fail, one size actually does fit all yoga practice — feet on the floor, spine straight, chin slightly tucked in, breathe. In and out. In and out. Repeat for 20 minutes.

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

Leave a Reply

