RSS Feed

Still alive and …uhhhhhhhh, breathing.


I don’t think I’ve sat down for 10 minutes anytime in the past 3 days. And I’m loving it. It’s the start to the new yoga teaching year and there’s a hundred things to do and another hundred things to think about.

I’m particularly proud of the development of the Atlantic Viniyoga Association. The website is beautiful and our advertising posters match it.

And good grief, speaking of advertising, public relations and marketing — it’s been a steep learning curve. I’m sure this is going to be a whole lot simpler in years to come but right now, it’s been a lot of “You want me to do what? When?”, quickly followed by “What the hell???” It helps that I’ve been largely pain free this past couple of weeks, in no small part due to the help of my osteopath, Adam Ridgewell.

Learning curve, learning curve, learning curve. I keep telling myself this is just another form of tuition payments. Some fees you pay in cash and other fees you pay in experience and time. And at some point in time, I’m actually going to have to figure out what/who/how I’m teaching!!!

On other news, I signed up for an intermediate yoga class with my teacher, Kathryn Downton. I’m not sure when my next installment of my advanced teacher’s training is going to start and I really miss having a class. Besides, it was hard to give it a pass. The theme of the class is Dharma Yoga. I took it as a sign.

On that note, it’s beddy-bye time. I need to get up at “oh-dark and stupid” as we used to say in the Army. This time it’s about my “real job”.

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

One response »

  1. Congrats on the website and the project and scaling your curve – boy can I identify with that climb these days! The website looks beautiful and peaceful and chock full of information. Thanks for the comment, it was a bright spot in an otherwise cloudy day. Good to be back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

