RSS Feed

Thinking points from Lone


Yesterday, I hauled my frame out of bed in time to join a group of yoga teacher trainees because their class was hosting a talk by Lone Ericson-Parker. Lone is a social worker, a self-development consultant and a yoga teacher-therapist in Fredericton. She’s also a most remarkable human being.
In October of 2006, Lone was walking when she was struck by a car. She suffered extensive physical injuries to legs, pelvis, and shoulder but not to her spirit. Yesterday, she gave a talk on her healing journey and the things she had learned along with way. It was, and the word beggars the experience, it was inspiring.

I didn’t take notes because I wanted to fully attend to what she was saying to us, so this blog posting is about the snippets as they wondered through my frame of consciousness. I just wanted to pass on some of the ‘thinking points’ she illuminated for me.

In no particular order:

1. Question everything. Everything. Question your beliefs about yourself, the nature of the universe. Open yourself to answers that are not part of the script. Let go of the identities and the stories we manufacture by questioning everything. One of the examples she gave was when she was hospitalized and totally reliant on the nursing staff to get things for her (funny how two fractured legs and a fractured pelvis brings that about), she found herself experiencing great frustration because the hot water she had asked for had not arrived. Fifteen minutes had passed and the water SHOULD be here. “Should it?” she questioned. Why did she think it should be there by now? And she came to the realization that her growing sense of frustration had nothing to do with the water at all but was really rooted in her mental assessment of what SHOULD be.

I loved this part of the story because SHOULD is one of my red flag words as well but I needed be reminded of it.

2. The most important relationship you have is the relationship you have with yourself. It’s more important than the relationship you have with your children, with your lover, with friends and family and co-workers. It’s central because it is your relationship with yourself that is the wellspring of all those other relationships. We need to get good with ourselves – every day – by stopping to let go of the identity masks and just be with ourselves.

There was lots more in the hour plus talk but these are two points I’ve had time to process. I’ll be posting more as they bubble in my mind.

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

Leave a Reply

