RSS Feed

Dear Jenni: YSP 1:43


When the mind is well purified, the knowledge of the object in concentration shines alone, devoid of the distinction of name and quality.

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali 1:43 unknown translation.

How often do any of us look at something in and of itself? Just it and nothing else? I’d wager not very often because we’re usually looking at the world around us with the ‘value added’ option on full strength.

I look out the window as I’m typing this and I see the sunshine. I like the sunshine. It reminds me of summer. And I see the ice in the river. I don’t like ice. It reminds me of cold and I don’t like it when I’m cold. It reminds me of when I was biking in the rain and I got so cold. What was the word for that? Oh yeah, post-exercise hypothermia. I got that from Rev Cathcart, he lives over on Canada St. He has a big tree by his house. And I see the trees. Soon there will be pollen and I’ll have difficulties breathing. I wonder what the pollen season will be like this year. And the river’s coming up fast. I wonder if it’ll flood like it did last year. I hope Ralph is all right. Ralph’s a nice guy. He’s sure been helpful to me the past couple of month. He’s got quite the sense of humour…

That’s my mind at work in the world. No ‘clear as a diamond” stuff going on here, that’s for dang sure. Reviewing objects in my surrounding, my mind is a non-stop commentator on the relative value of each thing in terms of its emotional content and its relationships with other things around me. I add history (memory) and future (imaginations), like and dislike, without being conscious of what I’m doing as I scan my environment. It’s an automatic process.

It can also blind me. One of the fantastic things about being human is we can extrapolate information from one event and project it to another similar event down the road. It’s called learning. It’s called generalization. We’re good at it. In fact, we’re so good at it, we often don’t realize we’re doing it at all. And I think stripped down to its most essential, yoga does something very valuable for us. It brings the unconscious short cuts of the mind into consciousness.

When I bring the focus of my mind onto a single object and sustain that focus, eventually the chatter of associations and relationships, of memory and ideas, fades away. All the fluttering of the mind as it works from the particular to the general and back again, from the real to the abstract and back again, drop away until there is nothing left but the object and the perception of the object. The “value added” option has been turned off.

It’s a skill we need to practice on a regular basis. For most of us, we don’t go through our lives thinking in this clear manner. Frankly, I don’t know if it’s even possible or for that matter, desirable. But I do know that when we get in the regular sustained habit of turning off the ‘value added option’, then we see turning it on for what it is – it’s what we’re adding to perception. My likes, dislikes, fears, prejudices, prior conditioning, emotional associations stand out for what they are. They are something I am ADDING to the situation. They don’t exist in the object itself.

And right there, in that consciousness of the moment, I have the opportunity to accept or discard the stuff I’ve added. When I can label it – that’s just my fear of spiders at work – then I can evaluate the new situation on its own merits. If I can’t see through my added stuff, then my mind and my decision making process is held hostage by my unconscious mind.

Yoga brings my mind’s workings to a more conscious level, giving me a chance to choose my reaction and that, my friend, is very liberating.

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

3 responses »

  1. I relate as well to this post! Sometime I think my mind is bigger and more than my “thinker” and my “I”-maker… I call this my ego – wich I sometime identify with, with bad results,, I think my thoughts, and feelings are personal and important… yoga tell me they are shifting, and whirling not per(whats that word, in english… per..) hmm.. not permanent, not perse(abhyasa)… YES! they are not giving me perseverence and stability. But no matter what we call it, I agree, what yoga gives me is the letting go if the identification of me being that 😉 and turning into a more pure state of conciousness (am I glad that I can check your spelling on that word-many language challanges this morning!) well now my eldest daughter have made breakfast, so I better take that break fast 🙂 love jenni

    Reply
  2. yes, well, it took me some time, but,, I think you also have some experience with this dimond place – (I alow myself to have an opinion haha),Desikachers translation goes like this:
    “When the direction of the mind towards the object is sustained, the ideas and memories of the past gradually recede. The mind becomes crystal clear and is in union with the object. At this moment there is no feeling of oneself. This is pure perception.” Sutra 1.43
    I know this place – have you ever tried to say a word for soo long time, that it suddenly sounds all new and funny in the mouth, and suddenly have no meaning? or having an argument for such a long time (yeah every object can take me there) that suddenly there is no contact to what it was all about, its just words and circles… or doing a mechanical thing for such a long time, like walking uphills, you go through all the opinions and resentments the mind can dig up – on this action,, a lot… but suddenly there is peace, the legs are walking you,, and you forgot that it’s tough or hard on the muscles and the head is empty.. like a flawless diamond 🙂 love jenni

    Reply
  3. Okay, never thought of it in those terms but yes, I get your point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

