RSS Feed

Dear Jenni — YSP 1:47

Posted on

Then the individual begins to truly know himself.

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali 1:47 — Desikachar translation

Dear Jenni:

This is my second go at this column. In a fit of sheer dumbassedness, I overwrote this column with what now appears in YSP 1:48. That’s what I get for trying to short cut.

It was a brilliant column, I’m sure, if only I could remember all of its subtle nuance. But basically, here’s the point I want to make: we’re putting in the time and effort to clear our minds because it makes our life so much easier.

The analogy has been done to death but it keeps getting trotted out because it works. Think of a tidal pool in the rocks, warmed by the sun. Life is teeming in those little pools and as a kid, I loved squatting at the edge of them, watching all the little critters moving about. In a fit of anthromorphization, I would imagine them looking back up at me. We were learning about each other because the water was still and clear. On really windy days, or if some one was jumping in the tidal pool, all the sentiment would be stirred up and I wouldn’t be able to see the critters and they couldn’t see me.

It’s the same with my mind. When I still the ego narratives, the clutter of aversions and attachments, I can see the world around me and at the same time, I see myself. Not the self I project out into the world but the one so rarely seen (if ever) by others.

I wanted to get caught up and back to our schedule so I’m going to hit the publish button on this. It’s been a little awkward running a week behind you.

Namaste and thanks for reading,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

One response »

  1. Thank you! It is nice to think and live the same sutra as someone (on the other side of the world) ! It makes sense in a yoga-logic kind of way 😉 I have a lot to do, so I go short on the “writing about the sutra”, many things happens as read the sutra out loud in the beginning and the end of the class, and I’ve started to always have a sitting meditation during classes (a verry short one,, like 3 minutes) in this sitting I read the sutra again(my translation to danish hahaha) I don’t know what they get out of it, but I get a deepening conntact with the sutras… love jenni

    Reply

Leave a Reply

