RSS Feed

I’m back


Last week at a local yoga gathering, I got a gentle reminder that I haven’t written on this in a dog’s age … or is that a down dog’s age? And yes, I confess, I’ve sort of fallen off the writing wagon for a while.

So catch up time I guess – I’m still teaching one class a week. It seems to be important for me to keep my focus. The next class starts Mar 17.

My current practice is surrounding Dharasana – the bow posture. With me, it’s definitely Ardha-dharasana – one side at a time. I’m short limbed and have a long torso – the full posture ain’t physically possible without the use of a strap to extend my reach, which I do from time to time. I’ve noticed that in my personal practice, I’m moving more towards working with a ratio breath – still not there exactly but I’ve been flirting with it a lot.

I’m still taking classes with Kathryn. This week’s practice has been from her class. It’s an amazing practice, written by Claude Marechal and it’s quickly becoming one of my favourite kind of practices – short, sweet and to the point. And it’s extremely energizing. I’ve been using it for my night shifts to get me through the night – literally.

I’m really looking forward to continuing my training. This August is definitely a go for my sutra studies. Chapter 1 – here I come.

I’ll try to be a little more diligent with this blog. I’m doing a lot of reading and integrating and it sort of took over from the writing process.

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

One response »

  1. you’re back!!

    partly inspired by your blog, i have been writing daily now (or trying to, at least).

    look forward to more of ur thoughts, hope ur doing great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

