RSS Feed

Imagine all the people… YSP 1.9


YSP 1.9 — shabda jnana anupati vastu shunyah vikalpah

 

Fantasy or imagination (vikalpa) is a thought pattern that has verbal expression and knowledge, but for which there is no such object or reality in existence.

Translator: Swami J

Tonight, if it’s a clear night outside, look up. The sky will be dominated by that closest of celestial bodies, so familiar that we rarely account for it in our consciousness. The moon, just three days off its fullness, is reflecting back to us the light of the sun that drives all life on this planet. Give yourself a five minute break from everything and just look at the autumn moon tonight and when you do, remember this: the moon has footprints on it.

If memory serves correct, the moon has a couple of golf balls as well, along with some ATV tracks. The reason they are there is at the heart of today’s sutra. Human minds are blessed (or cursed) with imagination. We can envision a reality that exists only within our minds. As Albert Einstein said “The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination.”

It wasn’t until I started writing this column that I realized how much I take imagination for granted. I’ve never really examined how much impact is has on my daily life. All our creative acts, whether they are acts of engineering or paintings on the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel, start in the mind through the function of imagination. For centuries, humans have looked up in the sky and wondered the nature of that softly glowing orb. On July 20, 1969, American astronaut Neil Armstrong took that one giant leap for mankind and walked for all of us on its dusty gray surface. His trip was made possible by the power of human imagination and ingenuity.

Every single thing around me right now – the computer I’m writing this on, the chair I’m sitting on, the coffee cup I’m drinking from — exists in the material world because someone, somewhere, imagined its existence. Right now, I can’t think of any aspect of my life that’s untouched by human imagination.

To the best of our knowledge, imagination is something that is uniquely human. It’s not just engineering and art that springs from our imagination. Physically, we are a weak animal and we’re not very fast either. Despite our physical limitations, we have become the dominant life form on this planet (well, it’s not like bacteria count…) because of our uniquely human imaginations. Our survival as a species is closely linked to our innate ability to imagine ourselves in the circumstances of another. This is the foundation of social relationships and understandings. Empathy and compassion are the products of imagination. We can imagine all kinds of possible futures, including the one John Lennon gave us, where there is “no hell below us and above us only sky, imagine all the people living for today.”

Of course, human imagination hasn’t always lead to positive outcomes. Western culture is still trying to grapple with the consequences of one despotic megalomaniac who envisioned a Europe without any Jewish people in it. We have the power to imagine not only the wonderful but also the depraved. In and of itself, imagination is neutral. It’s how we use it and respond to it that makes it either positive or negative. We can use it to dream of things wonderful not yet made manifest or we can build the prison walls of our own Hell with it. Hallucinations and psychotic breaks with reality would all be examples of imaginations that increase our suffering.

Without going to this extreme, I find myself frequently engaged in problems that originate in my imagination. At many times in my life, I have used my imagination to create real suffering for myself. I’ve dreamt up all manner of imagined perils that could beset me or those I love. These imaginings engage my emotions and I feel real pain. I’m suffering based on an injury that exists only in my imagination.

Just to recap, in this section of the Yoga Sutras, we’ve examined three of the five functions of mind and forms of knowledge listed by Patanjali. The first two were thoughts concerning things that exist in reality. We either see them correctly or we perceive them incorrectly. This aphorism is different in that its subject is those things that have no corresponding item in reality. They can be thoughts, emotions, or images.

For the record, yogic tradition includes dreams while sleeping in the vikalpa category. I find this very interesting that dreams are seen as a valid form of knowledge and understanding.

Next week, I’ll be moving on to ‘dreamless’ sleep (nidra) as a form of knowledge. Until then, thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

3 responses »

  1. Dear Kate,

    I am always amazed at imagination; what it can do, what it has done, and how we are impacted by both. Like the man said, “Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits.” What I find interesting is the sitting. Symbolic of the time I take for me to relax into my capsule of creativity; when I am in thinking mode, I can pursue my world of creation, which is often me following my passion of speaking to parents about their kids and how to be the key to their preparation for finding and pursuing their passion in life. It is my own guided imagery to prepare for reality.

    When I just sit, the subliminal processes are at work, constructing from the base, a structure of preparation for accomplishing my pursuits. I feel sure the unknown hiding in my mind is constantly being stretched and formed into new structures, because when I return to the “thinking” again… there they are.

    Of course there are times when pure fantasy bubbles about, but even then I trust there is some purpose or intent… just don’t see it, but I hope my outcomes are at least positive.

    I believe you can only do what you can imagine, and what you can imagine can be done. Time to go sit and think.

    With abundant gratitude… Namaste.
    Lawson Meadows

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the comment Lawson. It’s always good to hear from you. I really like this section of the sutras because it really opens up the fullness of the human mind. Of course, imagination can become an obstacle, but only if we don’t use it constructively through proper training. For me, this is the key point of these sutras — the mind is equipment and we need to appreciate its capacity and ensure that we’re using it well. The mind is not the master.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Fantasy vs. Imagination: YSP 1.9 « Dharmayoga’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

