RSS Feed

An long over-due update


Holy Crap, it’s been about 10 weeks since I’ve sat down to work on this blog. Time and energy became scarcer resources this summer as I focussed on my university studies for a while.

Once I was out of that particular pressure cooker, it was time to get ready for my week long intensive yoga teacher’s training which starts this Friday (Aug 19). Eight women who have been studying together on a regular basis for a while are meeting again with our teacher Kathryn Downton. This year’s topic — Chapter 2 of the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. I’m really looking forward to it, even if the days are long and my energy still isn’t the best.

The thing I love about my tradition (Viniyoga) is that all if is okay. Last year, I did my training about 2 weeks after being released from cardiac care. I didnt’ have the gumption to work all the postural practices. We typically do 3 practices a day which is demanding enough when things are working all right. Sometimes I sat the practices out. Sometimes I stopped part way through because my breath was ragged. A couple of times, I opted for the classic posture — nap-asana.

What I loved about it all was it was all okay. My fellow students were okay with it when I napped on my mat. My teacher was okay with it.. and all that acceptance went a long way to making me be okay with it.

Speaking of updates, there’s an updated version of the Sanskrit-English glossary with a new feature — a concordance. As I was re-jigging my notes from last year, it dawned on me that one of these days, I’m going to want to be able to look up where X can be found in the Sutras. So, I went through and added that notation to every word that came from Chapter one. This year, when I was doing my prep for the trainings, I added the words for Chapter 2.

Again, I ask people to NOT print this file off. It’s long. I mean really long. My hard copy of it is printed off in two columns and runs to 36 pages!!! This is a very popular page with dozens of viewings every week. If every visitor prints it, we’ve just killed half a BC forest.

So, here’s the deal. You don’t print it and I’ll keep it up here for you to access as long as WordPress is still in business.

Now, I have to figure out what’s for supper…

Thanks for reading and Namaste,

Kate

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

One response »

  1. Wuhoo! Kate’s back! If you’re up to it Kate, I sincerely hope you’ll consider doing your magic with Chapter Two like you and Janine did with Chapter One. It made a HUGE difference to get some other perspectives, and your very clear, in-your-face, unmistakeable style was a refreshing addition. For me it’s an invaluable study tool to add to my ever-expanding binder of knowledge, which is currently serving as my memory…..until said memory returns.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

