RSS Feed

Well, that’s over …


Some time ago, this blog went on hiatus because … well, I haven’t enough brain cells to keep ‘blog writing and postmodernism in my skull at the same time. I’m pleased to report that I’ve done my penance in the hell that is contemporary sociological theory and I’ve possibly lived to tell the tale. Final marks are due sometime next week. In the meanwhile, let’s get back to something real.

Not to relive the nightmare but all I can say is that if what I just endured is the very best that Western philosophy has to offer, we are in deep freakin’ do-do. Today I have a funeral … nothing is says real more than death… and for the next 10 days I get to read what the hell I want. On deck is Orit Sen-Gupta’s Vayu’s Gate: Yoga and the Ten Vital Winds.

Talk to you later and Namaste,

Kate

PS: It feels good to be back.

About Kate MacKay

I'm a certified Viniyoga teacher, in Fredericton, NB. I was a 9-1-1 operator and emergency services dispatcher for 22 years. Surprisingly, the two worked well together, or as I liked to put it, from the sublime to the ridiculous -- all in a day's work. I'm currently off work as a result of a stress-induced cardiac condition that's thrown a few crimps in my lifestyle. I'm not actively teaching yoga in the classroom right now and probably won't for several more months. That said, this blog is one of the forms of practice I can do and I thank you for joining me in this exploration of all things yoga.

One response »

  1. Kate, even a post from nearly a year ago from you can fill my heart with joy and my mind with fire and ideas. Thanks for your internet presence and for just being out there. (btw: I did a long stint in academic western philosophy and left before I wrote a dissertation. Post-modernism is MOST assuredly NOT the best Wester philo has to offer (Being and Time comes to mind, though it’s a hundred years back. Veronique Foti and Nancy MacIntyre are 2 contemporary women who write on relationship ethics (inter alia) with deep clarity. But none of it embraces *practice* which is the essential component of what I find in yoga. My 20 year old, cheap 2 cents.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

